What My Child is Learning

SMSC and British Values

At Southern Road we recognise that the personal development of pupils, spiritually, morally, socially and culturally, plays a significant part in their ability to learn and achieve. We therefore aim to provide an education that provides pupils with opportunities to explore and develop their own values and beliefs, spiritual awareness, high standards of personal behaviour, a positive caring attitude towards other people, an understanding of their social and cultural traditions and an appreciation of the diversity and richness of other cultures. For further information please see the policies section of our website.


Visit from London Fire Brigade


Culturally Inclusive Week


garden-party-2 garden-party-3

Garden Party to celebrate the Queen’s 90th Birthday

Organisation of the Curriculum

Pupils are organised into year groups with three classes in each year group. No class exceeds 30 pupils. Every class in Key Stage 1 (years one and two) and the Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception) are provided with a Teaching Assistant to support learning. Every year group in Key Stage 2 (years three, four, five, six) has a Teaching Assistant. We also have additional teaching staff who work in partnership with year groups, to support those with English as an additional language.

Children in Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 follow the National Curriculum and are taught Mathematics and English every morning. In the afternoons we teach subjects included in the National Curriculum through a ‘Creative Curriculum’ approach, whereby opportunities for linking subjects and skills are identified and planned to enhance children’s learning. The subjects covered include: Science, Design Technology, Computing, Personal, Social, Emotional Development (PSED), History, Geography, Music, Physical Education (PE) and Art. We follow Newham’s Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education and Spanish is taught to all year groups by our specialist teacher Ms Martinez.

Children in the Foundation Stage follow the areas of learning set out in the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. This includes the 3 prime areas which are: Communication and Language (CL), Physical Development (PD) and Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED).
And the 4 specific areas which are: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the world (UW) and Expressive Arts and Design (EAD).

The curriculum is adapted to meet the needs of all children and those who have a specific learning need are supported by our Learning Support Assistants.

Curriculum Overview for Year

wmcil1 wmcil2


wmcil3 wmcil4 wmcil5